Kathmandu Valley

Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal, with seven UNESCO World Heritage Sites within the valley. Kathmandu valley is the cultural & architectural centre with one of world’s oldest civilisation. Because of numerous temples within Kathmandu, Kathmandu is also known as “City of Temple”. Kathmandu valley is divided into Kathmandu district, Bhaktapur district and Patan district.

According to different mythology, Kathmandu valley was once a lake and Manjushree or Lord Krishna (according to two different mythology) cut a gorge at Chobar to let the water out, which made the valley, habitable fertile land.

Formerly called Kantipur, the Kathmandu is named after a 3-storied temple “Kaasthamandap” inside Kathmandu Durbar (Palace) Square, which is said to have been built using wood of single tree. Besides Kaasthamandap, Kathmandu Durbar Square also holds Ancient Palace, Living Goddess Kumari’s house, 9-storied temple and many other temples. Palace is currently being used as Museum.


Similary, there are separate Durbar Square in Bhaktapur & Patan which have equally famous & beautiful arts, architectures and temples. Some of important monuments in Bhaktapur are Nyatapola (5-Storied Temple), 55 window Palace, The Golden Gate and many more. Krishna Temple, Taleju Bhawani Temple, Golden Temple along with many other temples and monuments are places to see in Patan.

Besides Durbar Squares, there are many other important places to visit in Kathmandu Valley like Pashupatinath, Swaymbhunath, Boudhanath and Changunarayan temple.

Visit Kathmandu for best cultural experience in Nepal.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s